Wrapped Around Your Finger

Things look up, then fall back down
Nothing seems to turn around
You give some, then take away
Things are different every day 

I wonder if I wait for naught
But still, with you, my breath is caught
Wrapped around your finger yet
A love that I have never met 

Reel me in, then drop me hard
Maybe it’s not in the cards
Still I dream and hope and pray
You will come to me one day 

Wrapped around your finger still
You know I bend to your every will
Abuse me, use me as you see fit
I like it more than I want to admit 

I am free, and yet I’m not
Shame becomes me when I’m caught
What to do when things get rough
Will I ever be enough? 

So here I sit, a waiting game
Sitting on my wall of shame
Nothing more and nothing less
Look at this whole tangled mess

Leave a Reply

